Tuesday 29 October 2013

#. [HG015]

In a sea of mystery artists and secret projects, Horizontal Ground stand out head and shoulders above most. A collection of artists with IP address style names assigned to them alongside some of techno's emerging stars. AnD, Skirt, Samuel Kerridge, Szare and Monica Hits the Ground have been thrown into the pot with our previous guest and podcaster, 194.454. as well as

The 15th release on the imprint comes from a new face, well name, # Three tracks of dark techno is the outcome. A1 comes with a powerful marauding bass and shattering percussion. B1 nods your head with it's metronome like clicks and effects whilst B2 heads back to the dancefloor with it's ever evolving synth lines.

Expect to see the release in the shops by the end of this week, but don't hang about because these vinyl only releases are normally limited in numbers. You can pre order your copy on the ReadyMade Website

Wednesday 16 October 2013

Sawlin & Subjected - Foreign Awake Part 1 [EDLX.033]

Sawlin & Subjected are two artists that have burrowed their way through the Berlin undergrowth and now the word is spreading far and wide. As two thirds of the three part collective (with Mørbeck), named Vault Series, they've been making bold statements in the techno world through a practically faceless, unhyped approach. Letting their thunderous, post apocalyptic manifestations lead the way to the wider audience rather than using PR and marketing.

It's these heavyweight outings that have caught the attention of Speedy J and prompted him to commission a two part EP for his Electric Deluxe label. The first EP, 'Foreign Awake Part 1', features three tracks from the duo. The EP begins with 'Texture 3', a dark expanse of swarming bass topped with unnerving reverbed bells. 'Texture 4' hits you like an instant slug to the head as it's heavy distorted kicks force you to sit up and take notice. The EP finishes with 'Texture 2'. A slower, but by no means, lesser impact. The kick fires at you with a deliberateness that focuses your mind, whilst frequencies scurry around your feet, like insects, upsetting your sense of calm.

Check out the EP from the Soundcloud player below

The release will hit the shops in the not too distant future so keep an eye out for that. More information on the artists can be found via their Facebook Fan Pages, Sawlin and Subjected and while you're at it don't forget the Electric Deluxe Fan Page.

If you want to catch the pair performing live, you can do so this weekend at the Electric Deluxe ADE special on Saturday alongside the likes of DVS1, Lucy, ROD and of course Speedy J. Full event info can be found on the ADE Website

Thursday 10 October 2013

Slash Dot Dash Podcast 024: Stefan Gubatz

Stefan Gubatz is an electronic music producer living in Cologne / Germany. After a few years experimenting with lots of different styles he found a home at the newly founded Traum Schallplatten sub label, Telrae, where he released a couple of 10 Inches, mostly dub techno oriented. His debut LP 'Distanz', which went even deeper into wide atmospheric soundscapes was released in late 2012, accompanied by two 'reworks' of his album on 10".

While becoming older and even lazier than before (as he claims), Stefan is always looking for new frontiers in sound, not only concentrating on dub techno but trying out new styles and experiments.

For our 24th Podcast Stefan has compiled music, new and old, to transport you into a world of downtempo experimental sounds that drift you through distorted clicks, saturated synth patterns and heady intense beats. This is by far our most out there mix, designed for home listening rather than warming you up for a big night out, as Stefan demonstrates his ability to manipulate your emotions of state of mind with every passing moment.

You can subscribe to the podcast in iTunes or you can download or stream the mix from the Soundcloud Player below


1) Harmonic 313 - Music Substitute System [Warp]
2) Kraftwerk - Geiger Counter [Capitol Productions]
3) nsi. - Risset [Non Standard Productions]
4) Kadrage - Circle Machine's Circle [Viva Hate Records]
5) Kraftwerk - News [Capitol Records]
6) Farben - Raute [Mille Plateaux]
7) Jeff Milligan - Convenience Store [Poker Flat Recordings]
8) Atom TM - Ich Bin Meine Maschine [Raster-Noton]
9) Plastikman - Plastique [Novamute]
10) Niederflur - Drehbrücke [Minus]
11) Jackmate - Shark Bait [Authentic Music]
12) Alec Empire - 22:24 [Geist]
13) Stefan Gubatz - Still Untitled
14) Jette Von Roth - Das Gefühl des Werdens [Roter Punkt]

We'd like to extend our gratitude to Stefan for putting together this wonderful mix for our series. If you'd like to know more about him then check out his Facebook Fan Page and if you're a fan of analog hardware we'd strongly recommend you check out his Youtube Page we're he invites you into his studio to experience his live abilities.

As for the rest of our podcasts, to find them, please head over to the Podcast Page on our website