Thursday, 3 January 2013

Mix Of The Day: OurLand.005 - XI

We kick off the New Year with a mix that was recorded by our boss, XI, at his East London home just before Christmas. The podcast was commissioned by the ever expanding new series called OurLand. Already on to it's 5th episode, focusing predominately on UK talent, they've featured mixes from Perc Trax artist Ben Gibson, past SDD guest Billy Allen, Void resident Jay Clarke and upcoming up Producer / DJ, Fundamental Interaction.

The mix takes a look at the darker side of the industry and the mental health implications that can go hand in hand with being a traveling DJ / Producer within the world of electronic music. Right from the start, the broken beat drones of Milton Bradley and Ike set the pace for this dark inward journey. The intensity rises as the Prince Of Denmark, Subjected and Rødhåd install a more four / four pattern before the Detroit stylings of Raw Series and Floorplan bring the mix to a close.

You can get the mix from the following links. Either via the direct download or you can subscribe to the mix in iTunes

Direct Download


  1. Brian Eno Feat Anastasia Afonina – Panic Of Looking [Warp Records]
  2. Milton BradleyReality Is Wrong [Prologue Records]
  3. Vid – Understand [Pleasure Zone]
  4. Ike – Loss (Regis Version) [Blackest Ever Black]
  5. Milton Bradley – Voices Of The Unknown [Do Not Resist The Beat!]
  6. Prince Of Denmark – Prypjat [Giegling Staub]
  7. Silent Servant – Utopian Disaster (End) [Hospital Productions]
  8. Subjected – MS.20 [Vault Series]
  9. Rødhåd – Thoughtcrime [Dystopian]
  10. Raw Series – Raw Series #2 (A Side) [Raw Series]
  11. Regal – Trick [Enemy Records]
  12. Floorplan – Altered Ego [M-Plant Music]
  13. Regis – Reclaimed 4 [D/N Records]
  14. Mokira – Manipulation Musik [Kontra-Musik]

As well as the podcast, OurLand caught up with XI for a chat about the inspiration behind the mix, his favourite UK producers, the future and a bit more on top. Check out the interview on the OurLand Website. There you'll also be able to find all the link for the previous 4 mixes in the series.

More info on XI can be found through his Facebook Fan Page or you can follow him on Twitter

No comments:

Post a Comment